News:

FOR INFORMATION ON DONATIONS, AND HOW TO OBTAIN ACCESS TO THE GAME, PLEASE VIEW THE FOLLOWING TOPIC: http://stick-online.com/boards/index.php?topic=2.0

Main Menu

If SOv3 turns out to become a fully fledged indie game.. Git repository and API

Started by Loganvz123, May 22, 2012, 05:02:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Loganvz123

You see, I was thinking.
Stick-Online 2, back in the day, had about 50 people on at once, and over 10,000 registered users, with barely any advertising.
Now, this was a GameMaker game based of the 39dll.
From the look of the screenshots, and what I hear, in this next C++ rebuild. I can almost vision Stick Online becoming a kind of MapleStory, it may lose it's sense of community, but the game itself will prosper greatly.
I was thinking...what if we could host custom servers, like Minecraft, and have a C++ API with hooks and methods to add plugins?
I know this would require quite a bit of work...but when I started playing Minecraft back during Alpha, I started learning programming hMod plugins. I then continued this during Canary - the continuation of hMod, and even contribute some time on the gitHub from time to time.
So my suggestion is this. An API, a plugin system, and a gitHub repository.
I personally would love to be able to study C++, and submit some pulls and commits, so that we could get a proper development team, and it wouldn't just rely on Meiun doing all the work.

Scotty

My understanding is that it's using .NET with the XNA framework, not C++.
Github won't happen because the game isn't intended to be released under an open source license.
User hosted servers won't happen either since it is intended to follow an MMO structure of gameplay, thus one server, many players.

All the above is based off the following topic (Unless Meiun has changed something since):
http://www.stick-online.com/boards/index.php?topic=2180.msg46519#msg46519

Lingus