News:

FOR INFORMATION ON DONATIONS, AND HOW TO OBTAIN ACCESS TO THE GAME, PLEASE VIEW THE FOLLOWING TOPIC: http://stick-online.com/boards/index.php?topic=2.0

Main Menu

I'm replacing some computer parts for christmas. A Question

Started by DarkBlade325, November 29, 2012, 11:11:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DarkBlade325

So with Christmas right around the corner, I've decided to give my machine a bit of an upgrade. Specifically, 4GBs of ram, and a new 750 Watt power supply.

However I have a question about the power supply. I've tracked down a type of ram stick that is comparable with my motherboard, but I'm not really sure how to tell if a Power Supply's cables will work for my machine. I'm a bit of a newbie when replacing and even just installing computer parts, you see. Although I know how to install sticks of ram.

So can anyone give me some advice how to track down a new power supply that will work for my system? This has been my only hurdle that has had me on edge when trying to track down some new parts on Amazon and such. And the main reason is that I recall some power supplies have different types of cables that go into the motherboard, card, hard drives, so on and so forth. And I don't know which ones my current power supply uses.

Any help would be appreciated  ;)

ARTgames

Well I'm not sure why your getting a new psu anyway. Your not going to need it if you are just getting more ram. Unless your old one died or your getting new parts that need more power. More info on the system would be needed but if its a modern system and a modern psu than you should be fine. It will have all the connectors you will need.

Chaos

Assuming your computer is relatively modern, the PSU is going to have every cable you will need.  The power cables of a PSU are pretty standardized.