News:

FOR INFORMATION ON DONATIONS, AND HOW TO OBTAIN ACCESS TO THE GAME, PLEASE VIEW THE FOLLOWING TOPIC: http://stick-online.com/boards/index.php?topic=2.0

Main Menu

What do you do?

Started by sayers6, February 02, 2012, 05:11:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scotty

Quote from: stick d00d on February 03, 2012, 11:29:27 PM
I graduated high school in '09 and still don't know what I'm going to do. I was supposed to join the military, either air force or navy, but to be honest I'm worried about getting stuck in a shitty job. I feel like my parents just want me to join to get me out of their house, and they act like I can make a decision over night that will impact the rest of my life. What I really want to do is become an electrician or something and not even pursue a career in the military. So at this point, I'm not working right now, have applied to many places, and haven't heard back from any. Maybe I will end up joining the service because right now the economy sucks ass.

Assuming that's the US military, I hear they've acquired quite a waiting list since I was in.  Part of that whole drawing back and cutting funding.  Regardless, there are a metric butt ton of jobs in the military that relate to electrician work.  You get paid to learn it, 4+ years of experience doing it, benefits that can't be beat, and a heck of a resume when you get out.  From a veteran to someone who's on the fence, I'd highly recommend it.  Look at me, no college education, everything is self taught, and because of the military (granted that I acquired a few "bonus" perks while in) as well as the fact that I worked my ass off while I was in to make sure my self taught education was actually worth something, I'm making six figures.

stick d00d

Quote from: Scotty on February 03, 2012, 11:35:23 PM
Quote from: stick d00d on February 03, 2012, 11:29:27 PM